3rd Day Of The Season

After the final 4 teams opened their season last night it’s the first Wednesday of the season and now it’s either the second or third starters pitching for every team. Now it’s going to start to be easier to make picks but again anything can happen in baseball. Injuries, a great pitching game etc. Anything is possible in this wonderful sport of baseball and I hope I can keep my streak going. It’s currently at 4 and I hope I can extend it tonight. I feel for Yu Darvish. He lost his perfect game in the 9th inning thanks to Marwin Gonzalez. He pitched fantastic and that one pitch beat him. A wonderful game on the 3rd day of the season. I’m only making one pick in BTS today since it’s the only one I feel comfortable with. Let’s get to it.

Recap Of April 2nd

Adrian Beltre– 0 for 5- Beltre has disappointed twice already this season and he might not be picked for a while and he was a recommended pick.

Ryan Braun– 1 for 4- Was a recommended pick and he did come through but barely.

Melky Cabrera– 1 for 4- Melky got a hit in his second at bat and he was my sleeper and half of my Double Down.

Andre Ethier– 1 for 3- I was shocked he got a hit off of Bumgarner and he got 1 of the 2 Dodger hits on the night. He was my Pick To Avoid.

Jose Bautista– 1 for 3- Hit in his first at bat and that was good for my Double Down.

Recommended Picks By MLB For April 3rdRobinson Cano looks like he is going to be a great choice tonight since he hits great against Clay Buchholz and I think he will continue that trend. Cano has 1018 hits for a .317 average against righties in his career. Cano has 189 hits for a .294 average in March/April in his career. Cano has 172 hits for a .309 average against the Red Sox in his career so far. Cano has 1 hit for a .250 average against the Red Sox so far this season but I think he will have a good game against Buchholz. Cano had 19 hits for a .253 average against the Red Sox last season. Cano has 962 hits for a .308 average at night in his career so I think he will do well tonight.  Cano has 12 hits for a .480 average against Buchholz in his career and I think he will rake against him tonight. Cano had 3 hits for a .600 average against Buchholz last season and I think he will do just as well against him tonight. Cano is one of the best choices for BTS and tonight is no different against Clay Buchholz. Clay Buchholz is making his first start of the season tonight against the Yankees. Buchholz got hit and hit hard by the Yankees last season and I think that will continue tonight as well. Buchholz has given up 325 hits for a .257 BAA lefties in his career. Buchholz has given up 322 hits for a .253 BAA on the road so far in his career so he doesn’t pitch great on the road at all and I think that will continue tonight against the Yankees. Buchholz has given up 123 hits for a .281 BAA in March/April in his career so he gets hit at the beginning of the year and I think that will continue tonight against the Yankees. Buchholz gave up 40 hits for a .331 BAA in March/April last season so he got hit hard at the beginning of last season and I think that will continue tonight against the Yankees. Buchholz has given up 64 hits for a .328 BAA the Yankees in his career so he gets hit by the Yankees and Cano. Buchholz gave up 15 hits for a .405 BAA the Yankees last season and I think that will continue tonight. Buchholz has given up 417 hits for a .240 BAA at night in his career so far. Buchholz gave up 132 hits for a .254 BAA at night last season but I think he will get rocked by the Yankees tonight. Buchholz has given up 26 hits for a .292 BAA in Yankee Stadium in his career and he gave up 6 hits for a .600 BAA in Yankee Stadium last season and I think he will get rocked in Yankee Stadium again tonight. I think Cano is a great choice and he will be a popular choice and I think he rakes against Buchholz tonight.

Miguel Cabrera is going to be a popular pick in BTS for today like he always seems to be but he failed on opening night against the Twins but that was a minor hiccup since he never saw Worley before. Miggy is facing Kevin Correia today and I think he will have a good game against him. Miggy has 1401 hits for a .319 average against righties in his career and he could have a great game today. Miggy has 908 hits for a .312 average on the road in his career so he hits everywhere and he could have a great game today against Correia. Miggy has 257 hits for a .323 average in March/April in his career. Miggy had 0 hits for a .000 average against Minnesota in his first game on Monday but I think he gets off the snide today. Miggy has 114 hits for a .322 average against Minnesota in his career. Miggy had 28hits for a .384average against Minnesota last season and I think he will rake today against Minnesota and Correia. Miggy has 552 hits for a .298 average during the day in his career and he had 71 hits for a .292 average during the day last season and 0 hits for a .000 average against Minnesota on Monday during the day. Miggy has 40 hits for a .378 average in Target Field in his career so he rakes in Minnesota and I think that will continue today. Miggy had 0 hits in 5 at bats in Target Field on Monday but I think he will get at least one hit today. Miggy had 14 hits for a .378 average in Target Field last season and I think he will get hits in the last 2 games of this series including today. Miggy has 9 hits for a .474 average against Correia in his career and I think he will do something against him today as well. Miggy had 2 hits for a .333 average against Correia last season and I think he will hit him today and I think he is going to come through in BTS today. Kevin Correia is making his first start of the season today against the Detroit Tigers and I think he will get hit and hit hard today and give up a lot of hits today and at least one to Miggy. Correia has given up 636 hits for a .276 BAA against righties in his career. Correia gave up 100 hits for a .284 BAA against righties last season and I think he will give up a lot of hits today again. Correia has given up 154 hits for a .245 BAA in March/April in his career and he gave up 15  hits for a .188 BAA in March/April last season and he could shut down Detroit today but I don’t think he will and I think Miggy will get at least one hit today. Correia has given up 17 hits for a .239 BAA Detroit in his career. Correia gave up 13 hits for a .250 BAA Detroit last season but I think he is going to give up a lot of hits to Detroit and Miggy today. Correia has given up 372 hits for a .275 BAA during the day in his career. Correia gave up 49 hits for a .254 BAA during the day last season but I think he gets hit by Miggy today. Correia has never pitched in Target Field before so he could have a great game today and shut down Detroit but I think Miggy will get at least one hit today.

Sleeper Pick For April 3rdBen Zobrist is somebody who I would definitely look at for today in BTS as he hits well against Wei-Yin Chen. Zobrist has 237 hits for a .284 average against lefties in his career so he does hit lefties and I think he will do well tonight. Zobrist had 52 hits for a .308 average against lefties last season and I think he does well against Chen tonight. Zobrist has 294 hits for a .237 average at home in his career. Zobrist had 63 hits for a .239 average at home last season so he didn’t hit well at home last season but he could hit well at home this season. Zobrist has 85 hits for a .229 average in March/April in his career so he doesn’t hit well at the beginning of the season and that could continue tonight. Zobrist had 16 hits for a .205 average in March/April last season but I think he will get at least one hit off of Chen tonight. Zobrist has 81 hits for a .277 average against Baltimore in his career and I think he will continue to hit Baltimore well tonight. Zobrist had 16 hits for a .267 average against Baltimore last season but I think he will do well against Baltimore tonight. Zobrist has 7 hits for a .467 average against Chen in his career and I think that continues tonight. Zobrist had 7 hits for a .467 average against Chen last season and I think he will get at least one hit off of him tonight. Zobrist has 473 hits for a .261 average at night in his career. Zobrist had 98 hits for a .259 average at night last season and I think he will get at least one hit tonight off of Chen. Zobrist won’t be looked at tonight but I think he should as I think he will get at least one hit tonight. Wei-Yin Chen is making his first start of the season tonight against Tampa Bay and I think he will pitch well but I think Zobrist will hit him well tonight. Chen has given up 139 hits for a .257 BAA in his career and last season. Chen has given up 83 hits for a .244 BAA on the road in his career and last season. Chen has given up 24 hits for a .250 BAA in March/April in his career and last season. Chen has given up 28 hits for a .231 BAA Tampa Bay in his career and last season. Chen has given up 16 hits for a .229 BAA in Tropicana Field in his career and last season. Chen has given up 120 hits for a .257 BAA in his career and last season. Chen has given up 16 hits for a .229 BAA in artificial turf in his career and last season. Chen has only pitched 1 season in the majors so he only has career stats but I think that Zobrist will get at least one hit off of him tonight.

Current Record: 3-0- I’m 3 for 3 with sleepers and hoping I can keep it going with Zobrist today since Melky came through yesterday.

Pick To Avoid For April 3rdAlfonso Soriano is somebody who I will not even look at for tonight and I think he won’t do anything at all against Wandy Rodriguez tonight. Soriano has 446 hits for a .277 average against lefties in his career. Soriano had 34 hits for a .260 average against lefties last season but he can’t hit Wandy and I don’t think he will get a hit off of him tonight. Soriano has 963 hits for a .272  average on the road in his career. Soriano had 0 hits in 4 at bats on the road on Monday and he had 73 hits for a .255 average on the road last season. Soriano has 327 hits for a .289 average in March/April in his career so he hits well at the beginning of the season and that could continue but I don’t think he will do much against Rodriguez tonight. Soriano had 0 hits in 4 at bats Monday and he had 18 hits for a .237 average in March/April last season. Soriano has 119 hits for a .318 average against Pittsburgh in his career so he could have a good game but I don’t think he will. Soriano had 0 hits in 4 at bats against Pittsburgh on Monday and I think he goes hitless again tonight. Soriano had 21 hits for a .323  average against Pittsburgh last season but I think he will go hitless tonight. Soriano has 1162 hits for a .278 average at night in his career. Soriano had 77  hits for a .262 average at night last season but I don’t think he will do anything tonight. Soriano has 62 hits for a .326 average in PNC Park in his career.  Soriano had 0 hits in 4 at bats in PNC Park on Monday and he had 12  hits for a .375 average in PNC Park last season. Soriano has 5 hits for a .122 average against Wandy Rodriguez in his career so he doesn’t hit him at all and I think that continues tonight. Soriano had 1 hit for a .167 average against Wandy last season but I don’t think he will get a hit against him tonight making him a bad selection. Wandy Rodriguez is making his first start of the season tonight against the Cubs and he could pitch a great game or he could get rocked. Rodriguez has given up 1085 hits for a .261 BAA righties in his career. Rodriguez gave up 164 hits for a .255 BAA righties last season and I think he will shut down Soriano but the Cubs could get a lot of hits. Rodriguez has given up 189 hits for a .245 BAA in March/April in his career so he gives up a lot of hits at the beginning of the season and the same could happen tonight. Rodriguez gave up 26 hits for a .218 BAA in March/April last season so he pitched well at the beginning of last season and I think he will shut down Soriano tonight. Rodriguez has given up 142 hits for a .269 BAA the Cubs in his career so he pitches okay against the Cubs but I think he won’t give up anything to Soriano. Rodriguez gave up 22 hits for a .278 BAA the Cubs last season so he got hit by the Cubs last season but it won’t happen tonight. Rodriguez has given up 953 hits for a .261 BAA at night in his career and I think he will pitch another good game tonight. Rodriguez gave up 136 hits for a .261 BAA at night last season and I think he will pitch well tonight. Rodriguez has given up 106 hits for a .266 BAA at PNC Park in his career and he gave up 44 hits for a .235 BAA at PNC Park last season. Rodriguez I think is going to shut down Soriano and I think Soriano isn’t going to be a good choice tonight at all.

Current Record: 1-2- Ethier did get a hit in his first at bat against Bumgarner and I thought he wouldn’t do anything at all.

My Pick For April 3rd– Robinson Cano is my choice for today and I think he will have a great game against Clay Buchholz. For reasons why see Recommended Picks above.

Current Record: 2-1- Hit my Double Down so I’m on a roll right now.

Double Down Record: 2-0– Was good thanks to Melky and Bautista.

One comment

Leave a comment