Back To The Drawing Board In BTS

Well Robinson Cano is starting out his season slow as he went hitless last night against Clay Buchholz but I don’t mind since it’s only the beginning of the season. The season is 4 days old so there is a long way to go. I know I will get to 30 or maybe even 57 because I’m going to be doing 1 a day or not picking on some days but as of now I’m picking every day. Good luck to all and hopefully I will get back on track today/tonight. Let’s get to it.

Recap Of April 3rd

Robinson Cano– 0 for 4- Did nothing at all against Buchholz which is something  I wasn’t expecting.

Miguel Cabrera– 2 for 4- Got his first 2 hits of the season yesterday.

Ben Zobrist– 2 for 4- Came through against Chen like I had a feeling he would do.

Alfonso Soriano– 1 for 4- Did get a hit off of Rodriguez when I thought he wouldn’t.

Recommended Picks By MLB for April 4thJoey Votto just got his first hit of the year last night so maybe he is starting a hot streak and he could be starting to hit as of now. Votto could also disappoint today and he could go hitless against Joe Blanton. Votto got a walk off hit so maybe it was he just got lucky last night but today he has to face Blanton and he could do well. Votto has 570 hits for a .321 average against righties in his career. Votto has 0 hits in 4 at bats against righties so far this season but he could do well today. Votto had 92 hits for a .359 average against righties last season and I think he will do well today. Votto has 384 hits for a .302 average at home in his career and he has 1 hit for a .167 average so far this season at home. Votto had 63 hits for a .344 average at home last season and I think he will hit well today. Votto has 131 hits for a .317 average in March/April in his career and he has 1 hit for a .167 average in April so far this season. Votto had 22 hits for a .289 average in March/April last season and I think he will do well today. Votto has 1 hit for a .167 average against Anaheim so far in his career and so far this season. Votto could do well against Votto today though. Votto has 294 hits for a .325 average during the day so far in his career and 0 hits in 4 at bats during the day so far this season. Votto had 45 hits for a .346 average during the day last season and I think he will hit Blanton today. Votto has 3 hits for a .375 average against Blanton in his career. Votto had 1 hit for a .333 average against Blanton last season and I think he will get at least one hit off of him today. Joe Blanton is making his first start of the season today and I think he will get hit and hit hard by Cincinnati today. Blanton has given up 737 hits for a .271 BAA lefties so far in his career. Blanton gave up 111 hits for a .293 BAA lefties last season and I think he will get hit again today by Votto. Blanton has given up 763 hits for a .284 BAA on the road in his career so far. Blanton gave up 105 hits for a .280 BAA on the road last season and I think he will get hit today by Cincinnati. Blanton has given up 245 hits for a .290 BAA in March/April in his career so far. Blanton gave up 31 hits for a .295 BAA in March/April last season and I believe he will get rocked today. Blanton has given up 38 hits for a .299 BAA Cincinnati in his career so far. Blanton gave up 4 hits for a .167 BAA Cincinnati last season but I think he will give up a lot of hits today and get hit by Cincinnati. Blanton has given up 478 hits for a .281 BAA during the day in his career and he gave up 54 hits for a .263 BAA during the day last season. Blanton has given up 19 hits for a .264 BAA in Great American Ballpark in his career so far. Blanton gave up 4 hits for a .190 BAA in Cincinnati last season but I think he will get hit by Cincinnati today and I think he will give up at least one hit to Votto today.

Miguel Cabrera could have a very good game today in Minnesota and against Mike Pelfrey or he could do nothing like he did on Monday. Miggy has been a great hitter on BTS in the past so I like the odds he could get a hit today. Miggy has 1403 hits for a .319 average against righties in his career. Miggy has 2 hits for a .222 average so far this season. Miggy had 155 hits for a .335 average against righties last season and I think he will get at least one hit off of Pelfrey today. Miggy has 910 hits for a .312 average on the road in his career. Miggy hits well on the road and I think that will continue today. Miggy has 2 hits for a .222 average on the road this season and he had 107 hits for a .327 average on the road last season. Miggy has 259 hits for a .324 average in March/April in his career. Miggy has 2 hits for a .222 average in April so far this season but I know he will start to hit and it could happen today. Miggy had 25 hits for a .298 average in March/April last season but I think he will do well today. Miggy has 116 hits for a .324 average against Minnesota in his career so far. Miggy has 2 hits for a .222 average against Minnesota so far this season. Miggy had 28 hits for a .384 average against Minnesota last season and I think he will hit them well again this season. Miggy has 554 hits for a .298 average during the day in his career. Miggy has 2 hits for a .222 average during the day so far this season and Miggy had 71 hits for a .292 average during the day last season and I think he will hit this season. Miggy has 42 hits for a .382 average in Target Field in his career so far. Miggy has 2 hits for a .222 average in Target Field so far this season. Miggy had 14 hits for a .378 average in Target Field last season and I think he will rake in Target Field again this season and it will start with Pelfrey today. Miggy has 2 hits for a .250 average against Pelfrey in his career but I think he will get at least one hit off of him today. Miggy had 0 hits in 2 at bats when he last faced Pelfrey in 2011 but I think he will get at least one hit off of him today. Mike Pelfrey is making his first start of the season today and I think he will pitch a bad game today. Pelfrey has given up 476 hits for a .278 average against righties so far in his career. Pelfrey gave up 10 hits for a .303 BAA righties last season but he didn’t pitch much at all but I think he will give up a lot of hits today. Pelfrey has given up 518 hits for a .266 BAA at home in his career and he gave up 16 hits for a .291 BAA at home last season. Pelfrey has given up 152 hits for a .304 BAA in March/April so far in his career. Pelfrey gave up 24 hits for a .300 BAA in March/April last season and I think he will get hit hard today. Pelfrey has given up 8 hits for a .400 BAA Detroit in his career and he did that in 2011 which is the only time he has faced them. Pelfrey has given up 286 hits for a .291 BAA during the day in his career and he gave up 14 hits for a .259 BAA during the day last season. Pelfrey has never pitched in Target Field in his career but it has no bearing that I think he will give up at least one hit to Miggy today.

Sleeper Pick For April 4thShane Victorino is definitely somebody who I would look at for today. Victorino has 326 hits for a .333 average against lefties in his career. Victorino has 1 hit for a .333 average against lefties so far this season and I think he will get a hit off of Andy Pettitte tonight. Victorino had 53 hits for a .323 BAA lefties last season and I believe he will do well tonight against Pettitte. Victorino has 539 hits for a .272 average on the road in his career so far. Victorino has 4 hits for a .364 average on the road so far this season. Victorino had 73 hits for a .243 average on the road last season and I think he will get at least one hit tonight. Victorino has 147 hits for a .253 average in March/April in his career. Victorino has 4 hits for a .364 average in April so far this season and I think he will continue that today. Victorino had 21 hits for a .228 average in March/April last season so he is hitting better this season and I think that will continue tonight. Victorino has 15 hits for a .349 average against the Yankees in his career. Victorino has 4 hits for a .364 average against the Yankees so far this season and Victorino had 3 hits for a .231 average when he last faced the Yankees in 2010 and I think he will get at least one hit off of Pettitte tonight. Victorino has 750 hits for a .281 average at night in his career. Victorino has 2 hits for a .400 average at night so far this season and he had 111 hits for a .269 average at night last season. Victorino has 13 hits for a .317 average in Yankee Stadium in his career. Victorino has 4 hits for a .364 average in Yankee Stadium so far this season and he had 3 hits for a .250 average in Yankee Stadium the last time he played in Yankee Stadium which was 2010. Victorino has 5 hits for a .556 average against Pettite in his career and he had 2 hits for a .667 average when he last faced Pettitte in 2010 and I think he will get at least one hit off of him tonight. Andy Pettitte is making his first start of the season tonight and I think he will pitch well but not against Victorino. Pettitte has given up 2527 hits for a .270 BAA righties in his career. Pettitte gave up 48 hits for a .245 BAA righties last season but I think he will give up at least 1 hit to Victorino tonight. Pettitte has given up 1606 hits for a .262 BAA at home in his career. Pettitte gave up 32 hits for a .205 BAA at home last season. Pettitte pitched well at home last season but I think he will give up at least one hit to Victorino tonight. Pettitte has given up 475 hits for a .276 BAA in March/April in his career so he doesn’t pitch well at the beginning of the season. Pettitte gave up 28 hits for a .231 BAA in March/April in 2010. Pettitte has given up 257 hits for a .287 BAA Boston in his career and he gave up 25 hits for a .397 BAA Boston when he last faced them in 2010. Pettitte has given up 2144 hits for a .271 BAA at night in his career and he gave up 36 hits for a .235 BAA at night last season. Pettitte is a good pitcher but he doesn’t pitch well against Victorino and I think the same will happen tonight.

Current Record: 4-0– I’m picking great sleepers on the blog but not making them my pick. Zobrist came through against Chen.

Pick To Avoid For April 4thJustin Morneau is somebody who I would not pick today at all for BTS. Morneau can’t seem to hit against Rick Porcello and I think that will continue today as well. Morneau has 804 hits for a .294 average against righties in his career so far. Morneau has 2 hits for a .500 average against righties so far this season but I don’t think he will hit against Porcello today. Morneau had 89 hits for a .290 average against righties last season but I don’t think he does anything today. Morneau has 567 hits for a .274 average at home in his career. Morneau has 2 hits for a .286 average at home so far this season so he is hitting but I don’t think he will get a hit today. Morneau had 65 hits for a .252 average at home last season so he had an okay season at home last year but I don’t think that will continue today. Morneau has 176 hits for a .279 average in March/April in his career. Morneau has 2 hits for a .286 average at in April so far this season but I think he will do nothing today. Morneau had 17 hits for a .230 average in March/April last season and I think he will do the same this season. Morneau has 139 hits for a .302 average against Detroit in his career. Morneau has 2 hits for a .286 average against Detroit so far this season and he had 15 hits for a .214 average against Detroit last season and I think he will do nothing against Porcello today. Morneau has 380 hits for a .270 average during the day in his career. Morneau has 2 hits for a .286 average during the day so far this season and he had 39 hits for a .224 average during the day last season. Morneau hits better during the day but I don’t think he will do anything today at all. Morneau has 4 hits for a .174 average against Porcello in his career and he had 1 hit for a .143 average against Porcello last season. Morneau struggles against Morneau and I think he will struggle against him again today. Rick Porcello is making his first start of the season today and I think he will pitch well against Minnesota today. Porcello has given up 471 hits for a .308 average against lefties in his career so far. Porcello gave up 123 hits for a .325 average against lefties last season but I think he will pitch well against Morneau today. Porcello has given up 398 hits for a .293 BAA on the road in his career so he gets hit well on the road and the same could happen today but Morneau won’t do much. Porcello gave up 107 hits for a .307 BAA on the road last season and he could pitch bad today but Morneau won’t do much at all. Porcello has given up 130 hits for a .319 BAA in March/April in his career so he gets hit at the beginning of the season. Porcello gave up 29 hits for a .312 BAA in March/April last season but Morneau won’t do much at all today. Porcello has given up 96 hits for a .283 BAA Minnesota in his career so he does get hit by Minnesota but not Morneau. Porcello gave up 28 hits for a .406 BAA Minnesota last season so he got raked but Morneau didn’t do anything at all. Porcello has given up 314 hits for a .281 BAA during the day in his career and he gave up 76 hits for a .319 BAA during the day last season. Porcello doesn’t pitch well during the day and the same could continue today but Morneau isn’t going to do anything at all. Porcello has given up 29 hits for a .264 BAA in Target Field in his career and he gave up 9 hits for a .360 BAA in Target Field last season. Porcello gets hit hard in Minnesota and the same could happen today but I think Morneau will be shut down.

Current Record: 1-3- Soriano got a hit off of Wandy when I wasn’t expecting him to.

My Picks For April 4thShane Victorino is going to be my first pick for tonight. He hits Pettitte well and I think he will continue to hit in this series against the Yankees. For all stats see Sleeper Pick above.

Omar Infante is going to be my second choice for tonight. I am going to Double Down and I love both choices today. Infante has 708 hits for a .275 average against righties in his career so he hits righties well. Infante has 3 hits for a .429 average against righties so far this and he had 101 hits for a .257 average against righties last season and I think he will have a great game today. Infante has 541 hits for a .282 average on the road in his career so he hits well away from his home ballpark. Infante has 3 hits for a .429 average on the road so far this season and he had 78 hits for a .284 average on the road last season and I think he will rake today. Infante has 123 hits for a .267 average in March/April in his career. Infante has 3 hits for a .429 average in April so far this season and I think that will continue today against Pelfrey. Infante had 20 hits for a .323 average in March/April last season and I believe he will hit well today. Infante has 55 hits for a .243 average against Minnesota in his career so he doesn’t hit great against Minnesota but he does hit Pelfrey. Infante has 3 hits for a .429 average against Minnesota so far this season and I think that will continue today. Infante had 9 hits for a .265 average against Minnesota last season and I think he will rake against them today. Infante has 353 hits for a .281 average during the day in his career. Infante has 3 hits for a .429 average during the day so far this season. Infante had 52 hits for a .280 average during the day last season and I think he will hit well today. Infante has 9 hits for a .281 average in Target Field in his career and 3 hits for a .429 average in Target Field so far this season. Infante had 6 hits for a .261 average in Target Field last season so he didn’t hit well in Minnesota but I think he will hit well against Pelfrey. Infante has 15 hits for a .536 average against Pelfrey in his career so far and I think that will continue today. Infante had 7 hits for a .538 average against Pelfrey when he last faced him in 2011 and I think he will hit him well today as well. Infante is a great pick in my eyes and I think he will come through. He is another sleeper for today. For Pelfrey’s stats see Miguel Cabrera in Recommended Picks above.

Current Record: 2-2- Thanks to Cano I have a .500 record now.

Double Down Record: 2-0- I didn’t double yesterday and I’m happy I didn’t.

Leave a comment